Racers set to play in NCAA East Regional

On Monday night the Murray State women’s golf team gathered together at their home base in Miller Memorial Golf Course to watch as the regional sites and teams for the 2014 NCAA Women’s Golf Tournament were announced live, on the Golf Channel.

The Racers look to compete in the East Regional of the 2014 NCAA Championship. The East Regional, hosted by Florida State University, will be played at the SouthWood Golf Club in Tallahassee from May 8-10.

The Southwood was created by The St. Joe Company and was designed by PGA Tour legend Fred Couples and his partner Gene Bates. The course has been listed as one of the Top-35 courses in America and was recently named one of the Top-50 courses for women by Women in Golf Magazine. The course will play to a par of 72 and 6,257 yards.

A total of 378 participants have been selected for regional competition. Of these players, 126 will advance to the championships finals. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each regional.

The championships finals will be held May 20-23 at Tulsa Country Club in Tulsa, Oklahoma and will be co-hosted by Tulsa and the Tulsa Sports Commission.

The Racers took the 2014 OVC Tournament by storm with lone senior Delaney Howson leading the pack last week at the Shoals Golf Course in Muscle Shoals, Ala.  Howson, a four-time All-OVC team member, made history after carding a tournament round low (68) and was also named OVC Player of the Year. 

Howson’s 4-under-par 68 in round two was a tournament record. Her 212 set the OVC record for 54 holes surpassing the 218 by Morehead State’s Emma Jonsson in 2011.

As a team, the Racers overcame a 12-shot deficit to battle it out against Eastern Kentucky and Jacksonville with overall team scores of 307-298-310=915.

East Regional

The East regional will be played at SouthWood Golf Club in Tallahassee, Florida and will be hosted by Florida State. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

1. Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)

2. South Carolina

3. Stanford (Pac-12)

4. Vanderbilt (Southeastern Conference)

5. Pepperdine (West Coast Conference)

6. UCF

7. Virginia

8. Auburn

9. NC State

10. Florida State

11. Kentucky

12. Tulane (Conference USA)

13. Louisville (American Athletic Conference)

14. Baylor

15. East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun)

16. Georgia

17. Campbell (Big South)

18. East Carolina

19. Texas State

20. College of Charleston (Colonial Athletic Association)

21. Troy (Sun Belt)

22. Murray State (Ohio Valley)

23. Seton Hall (Big East )

24. Alabama State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)


1. Lori Beth Adams, North Carolina-Wilmington

2. Ellen Ceresko, Penn State

3. Lacey Fears, Mercer

4. Kaew Preamchuen, Kennesaw State

5. Abby Newton, Mississippi

6. Christina Vosters, Penn State

Central Regional

The Central regional will be played at Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Oklahoma. Oklahoma State will host. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.



2. Arkansas

3. Alabama

4. Arizona

5. LSU

6. Oklahoma State

7. Florida

8. North Carolina

9. Ohio State

10. Miami (Fla.)

11. Mississippi State

12. California

13. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)

14. Kansas

15. Texas

16. UNLV

17. Colorado

18. SMU

19. Minnesota

20. Harvard (Ivy Group)

21. Lamar (Southland)

22. Wichita State (Missouri Valley)

23. LIU-Brooklyn (Northeast Conference)

24. Siena (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)


1. Aurora Kan, Purdue

2. Sanna Nuutinen, TCU

3. Jenna Hague, Ball State

4. Ember Schuldt, Illinois

5. Kimmie Hill, Texas Tech

6. Stephanie Miller, Illinois

West Regional

The West regional will be played at Tumble Creek Club at Suncadia Resort in Cle Elum, Washington. Washington will serve as the host institution. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.


1. Southern California

2. Arizona State University

3. Oklahoma (Big 12)

4. Washington

5. Clemson

6. Wake Forest

7. Northwestern

8. Michigan State (Big Ten)

9. Iowa State

10. GRU-Augusta

11. Oregon

12. Texas A&M

13. UC Davis (Big West)

14. Denver (The Summit League)

15. San Diego State

16. Wisconsin

17. Gonzaga

18. Notre Dame

19. Tennessee

20. Chattanooga (Southern Conference)

21. New Mexico (Mountain West)

22. New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference)

23. Portland State (Big Sky)

24. Detroit (Horizon)


1. Alison Knowles, Louisiana-Monroe

2. Regan De Guzman, San Jose State

3. Clariss Guce, Cal State Northridge

4. Fabiola Arriaga, UTSA

5. Madchen Ly, Fresno State

6. Alexandra White, BYU

From: MSU media relations

Follow WPSD Sports on Facebook by clicking here.
Follow WPSD Sports on Twitter by clicking here.

Related Articles