Tennessee governor signs measure for lifetime handgun-carry permit
Gov. Bill Haslam has signed legislation that allows Tennesseans to get a lifetime handgun-carry permit.
During the recent legislative session, the House passed the measure 90-3, and the Senate approved it 30-2. Haslam signed it this week.
Before the new law, a permit was valid for four years.
Now, Tennessee residents at least 21 years of age can pay $500 for a lifetime permit. A criminal record check will be done every five years.
The state Safety Department can suspend or revoke a permit if the department finds a person no longer satisfies requirements.