Local counties named among newest Kentucky Work Ready Communities

Carlisle, Marshall, McCracken and Union counties have been named among those certified as Kentucky Work Ready Communities, Gov. Steve Beshear announced Thursday. Boyd, Greenup, and Washington counties also received the certification. 

Caldwell and Fulton counties have reached the Kentucky Work Ready Communities in Progress level, along with Green and Harrison counties. 

The Kentucky Work Ready Communities certification program — from KWIB and the Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet — works to assure employers that a local workforce has the talent and skills needed for existing jobs and to master technologies new jobs will require.

To become certified, a county has to get local support and commitment and apply for the Work Ready Community designation. Counties have to meet criteria including high school graduation rates, National Career Readiness Certificate holders, demonstrated community commitment, educational attainment, soft-skills development and digital literacy. 

Boone, Boyd, Boyle, Campbell, Carlisle, Clark, Daviess, Fleming, Greenup, Hardin, Henderson, Hopkins, Kenton, Madison, Marshall, McCracken, Nelson, Oldham, Pulaski, Rowan, Shelby, Union, Warren, Washington and Woodford counties have been designated as Kentucky Work Ready Communities since certification began in February 2012. Counties that get that status have to be recertified every two years. 

So far, 39 counties have been designated as Kentucky Work Ready Communities in Progress because they are close to meeting the Kentucky Work Ready Community criteria. 

Related Articles