Illinois governor issues state disaster proclamation for multiple counties

UPDATE: Illinois Gov. Bruce Rauner added five counties to the state’s disaster proclamation for flooding Wednesday. 

Rauner added Alexander, Christian, Clinton, Douglas and Morgan counties to the state disaster declaration for widespread flooding.  This brings the statewide total of declared counties to 12.  

The governor’s office said Rauner Governor Rauner will return to Springfield Thursday evening and will spend the following several days in central and southern Illinois "viewing flood damage, thanking volunteers and ensuring communities have everything they need."

Illinois Gov. Bruce Rauner issued a state disaster proclamation this week for seven counties. The governor’s office said the proclamation was issued to make sure there’s continued state support for communities affected by flooding.

Counties included in the proclamation are Calhoun, Jackson, Jersey, Madison, Monroe, Randolph and St. Clair.

“These counties have significant issues related to flooding that is already occurring or could occur over the next several days,” Gov. Rauner said in the announcement. “We are committed to help local responders in these and other impacted counties ensure the safety of people affected by this unusual December flooding.”

The State Emergency Operations Center in Springfield was activated Monday, the governor’s office noted, so state personnel and equipment could be deployed quickly to support local emergency responders. Resources provided as of Tuesday include nearly 400,000 sandbags, 160 rolls of plastic, 1,200 tons of sand, and pumps and generators to support flood-fighting efforts in several counties.

Related Articles