Tennessee looks to turn back clock on underage DUI law
Republican Gov. Bill Haslam’s administration is looking to turn back the clock on an underage drunken driving law that threatened to cost Tennessee $60 million in federal road money.
The law that went into effect in July had raised the penalties for driving under the influence by 18- through 20-year-olds. But the law ran afoul of federal zero-tolerance standards for underage drivers by raising the maximum allowable blood alcohol content from 0.02 percent to 0.08 percent.
The Associated Press on Friday obtained a copy of legislation the Haslam administration plans to file during a special session that starts next week. The bill seeks to eliminate nearly all of the provisions of the new law, returning the 0.02 percent rule and lesser penalties for all drivers beneath the drinking age.