2 McCracken County educators recognized for teacher achievement

Two McCracken County teachers were among 24 educators named winners of the 2017 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Awards, the Kentucky Department of Education announced Tuesday. 

Winners are selected by the state department of education and Valvoline, and they all qualify to compete for 2017 Kentucky Teacher of the Year. From McCracken County, Stephanie Laird with Heath Elementary School and Tamara Chapman with McCracken County High School, were announced as Teacher Achievement Award winners. 

All 24 teachers will be honored at a ceremony on Oct. 19 at the State Capitol Building in Frankfort. 

The 24 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Award winners are: 

Carren Cook, Kenwood Elementary School, Jefferson County

Kimberly Delaney, Longbranch Elementary School, Boone County

Donna Howard, Whitesville Elementary School, Daviess County

Kellie Jones, Taylor County Elementary School, Taylor County

Stephanie Laird, Heath Elementary School, McCracken County

Jennifer O’Daniel, Olive Hill Elementary School, Carter County

Elizabeth Ramey, Elkhorn City Elementary School, Pike County

Byron Wilson, Kentucky School for the Deaf (elementary school)

Myra Cowan, Robertson County School, Robertson County

Jennifer Farley, Farristown Middle School, Madison County

Alexandra Howard, Barrett Traditional Middle School, Jefferson County

Sarah Mills, Eastside Middle School, Bullitt County

Candida Murphy, Robert D. Campbell Jr. High School, Clark County

Chasity Shipley, Barren County Middle School, Barren County

Brandi Smith, Madison Middle School, Madison County

Emmanuel Stone, Shelby County West Middle School, Shelby County

Tamara Chapman, McCracken County High School, McCracken County

Cathy Conley, Knott County Central High School, Knott County

Cheryl Dicken, Campbellsville High School, Campbellsville Independent

Kip Hottman, Fern Creek High School, Jefferson County

Ashley Onkst, East Jessamine High School, Jessamine County

Amanda Ratliff, Johnson Central High School, Johnson County

Tricia Shelton, Boone County High School, Boone County

Ronald Skillern, Bowling Green High School, Bowling Green Independent

Related Articles

Kentucky man arrested after 17-hour standoff in Tennessee A Kentucky man has been arrested after a 17-hour standoff with police in Tennessee.
Gov. Rauner earned about $90M in 2016, paid $23M in taxes Illinois Gov. Bruce Rauner has released tax returns showing he earned about $90 million in 2016 and paid about $23 million in state and federal taxes.
Kentucky leaders reach deal on pension plans Kentucky's Republican leaders say they have agreed on how to change the state's struggling public pension system.
Big plans for old warehouse that could boost business in Murray With construction crews outside the Swann Warehouse for more than a year, managers say they can finally move forward with bigger renovations.