Local Kentucky schools named winners of competitive grants

Multiple schools in the Local 6 area have been named award winners for Kentucky’s Mathematics Achievement Fund Awards for fiscal year 2017, as well as other grant awards for that fiscal year. 

The local schools named on the list of FY17 Mathematics Achievement Fund Awards are: 

North Calloway Elementary 
South Livingston Elementary 
Benton Elementary in Marshall County
Sharp Elementary in Marshall County 
South Marshall Elementary 

The amount each school will be funded is $50,000. 

Multiple childcare providers in our area have been named as recipients of FY17 Preschool Partnership Tier I Awards. Those are:

Caldwell County Child Development Center – $25,000
Murray Head Start in Fulton County- $24,565
Murray Head Start in McCracken County – $25,000
Murray Independent Schools – $25,000
Trigg County – $17,350 

Multiple local schools were named recipients of FY17 Preschool Partnership Tier II Awards as well. Those are:

Ballard County Stop ‘n’ Go – $101,525
Calloway County Little Lake Harbour – $98,242 
Murray Head Start in Graves County – $149,475
Audubon Area Head Start, North CARES and South CARES in Livingston County – $150,000

To see the full lists of award recipients for these and other Kentucky competitive grants, click here

Related Articles

Local veteran builds tiny house for homeless veteran We all know the saying home is where the heart is. But what if you don't have a home? Homelessness is a reality for more than 500 Kentucky veterans.
Despair rises for relatives of the missing in Mexico quake As painstaking attempts to reach survivors in quake-ravaged buildings across Mexico City stretched into a third day Thursday, desperation mounted amon...
Death Wish Coffee recalls product due to botulism fears Death Wish Coffee is recalling 11-ounce cans of its Nitro Cold Brew cans.
Bankers: Rural economy continues to struggle in 10 states A new report says low commodity prices and weak farm incomes are continuing to hamper the rural economy in parts of 10 Plains and Midwestern states.