McCracken County School Board approves teacher transfers


Reporter - Elizabeth Fields
Photojournalist - Mason Watkins

MCCRACKEN COUNTY, Ky. - More than 220 teachers in McCracken County will be working at a different school next Fall, but Superintendent Dr. Nancy Waldrop said that's a good thing because three county high schools are closing.

A list of 228 names was approved in Thursday night's meeting documenting where each teacher was heading. Waldrop said there is a spot for every tenured teacher in an area which they're certified. Not all high school teachers will be going to the new high school, some will be teaching middle school. Teachers filled out surveys to gather information about their qualifications and about their preferences.

Waldrop said some non-tenured teachers will have to go through the non-renewal process. She was not sure of the exact number of non-tenured teaches at the time of the meeting.

"We don't see that being any different this year than any other year," she said. She added that the number of certified teachers in the district will increase by one position for the next school year.

The non-renewal process and the teachers it affects is usually addressed in the May board meeting.