Local counties eligible for Disaster SNAP


Web Editor - Nick Miller

SPRINGFIELD, Illinois - Governor Pat Quinn today announced that the Illinois Department of Human Services (IDHS) will offer immediate food assistance to 15 counties beginning Wednesday, December 11. The USDA's Food and Nutrition Services has authorized IDHS to offer special Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits to residents in those counties declared federal disaster areas as a result of severe storms last month.


"The state of Illinois is taking every step necessary to ensure that families across the state have the resources they need to recover from these tragic storms," Governor Quinn said. "We have been approved for critical federal aid for individuals, businesses and governments, and now we must ensure our residents are getting life's daily necessities, including access to food. This assistance will provide those affected with extra benefits to buy groceries to feed their families."

Individuals may be eligible for Disaster SNAP if they lived in one of the following Local 6 counties when the disaster occured: Massac and Pope.


Disaster SNAP benefits will be provided to families based on total income and assets available to a household during the severe weather event. Non-reimbursed disaster-related expenses are allowed as a deduction from income and assets if verification of the expense is provided.

Applications will be accepted December 11-13 and 16-17 from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. For more information, residents can call their local IDHS office or visit the IDHS website.