Murray teacher receives achievement award


Web Editor - Mason Stevenson

FRANKFORT, Ky. - A teacher with nearly three decades of experience teaching in a Local 6 area school has been named a 2014 Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Award winner.

Holly Bloodworth teaches at Murray Elementary in Murray, Kentucky.  She's been with the school for 27 years.

Murray Elementary principal Denise Whitaker describes Bloodworth as an "extremely passionate, highly effective teacher who goes above and beyond to create life-long learners."

Bloodworth, along with the other 23 award recipients, will be honored at the State Capitol Building in Frankfort October 16.  Each teacher will receive cash awards and certificates.  In addition to that, three teachers will receive custom-designed glassware commemorating their accomplishments.

The teachers also qualify to compete for the 2014 Kentucky Teacher of the Year Award, which will be announced in October.