Candidates chosen in Missouri primary - WPSD Local 6: Your news, weather, and sports authority

Candidates chosen in Missouri primary

Posted: Updated:

The results are in from Missouri's primary elections.

Voters had a chance to vote on both local and state races.

In the race for governor, Eric Greitens is now the Republican candidate. The former Navy Seal received 34% of the vote. St. Louis businessman John Brunner finished second with 25%.

For Democrats, Chris Koster is the winner with 79% of the vote. Koster is the current Attorney General. Eric Morrison came in second with 10% of the vote.

For Lieutenant Governor, the Democrat winner was Russ Carnahan with 76% of the vote. Mike Parson won the Republican candidacy with 52% of the vote.

Onto Secretary of State, where John Jay Ashcroft was the Republican winner with 61% of the vote. On the Democrat side, Robin Smith was the winner with 77% of the vote.

In the race for Attorney General, Democrat Teresa Hensley won with 53% of the vote and Republican Josh Hawley won with 64% of the vote.

The final state race is for a seat in the U.S. Senate. In the Republican primary, incumbent Roy Blunt won with 73% of the vote. Kristi Nichols came in second with 20%.

For Democrats, Jason Kander is the winner with 70% of the vote. Cori Bush came in second with 13%.

The Libertarian party is also running for the Senate seat. Jonathan Dine currently has 55% of the vote while Herschel L. Young has 45%.

In local races, Current Sheriff John D. Jordan won re-election against Davey Diveley with 61% of the vote. There was not a Democratic primary in this race.

In Mississippi County, Sheriff Keith Moore won against Brent Douglas with 55% of the vote in the Democratic primary. Republican candidate Cory Hutcheson did not have a challenger. 

In Scott County, Sheriff Rick Walter is seeking another term. He won 64% of the vote in the Democratic primary over Ron Merideth. In the Republican primary, Wes Drury won with 61% of the vote over Gregg Ourth.

Powered by Frankly