Du Quoin State Fair announces free admission days and themed day - WPSD Local 6: Your news, weather, and sports authority

Du Quoin State Fair announces free admission days and themed days

Posted: Updated:
DU QUOIN, IL -

The Du Quoin State Fair in Illinois has announced four days when some people can get into the fair free. 

The fair says Aug. 26 will be College Night, and students presenting a valid student ID can get in free.

On Aug. 28, veterans presenting military identification and their immediate family members can get in free. Southern Illinois University students, faculty, staff and alumni association members can also get in free that day. 

The fair says on Aug. 31, everyone age 60 and older will get free admission at the gate. 

On Sept. 4, free admission is offered to all police, firefighters, and EMTs when they show their badges at the gate. 

Otherwise, the fair is implementing a $2 admission fee for everyone age 13 and older. Kids age 12 and younger will get free admission. 

The full list of theme days for this year's Du Quoin State Fair are: 

Friday, August 26 - College Night
Saturday, August 27 - Governor's Day
Sunday, August 28 - Veterans Day / SIU Day
Monday, August 29 - Youth in Agriculture Day
Tuesday, August 30 - Democrat Day
Wednesday, August 31 - Senior Day
Thursday, September 1 - Illinois Tourism Day
Friday, September 2 - Sponsor Appreciation Day
Saturday, September 3 - Coal Heritage Day
Sunday, September 4 - First Responder Day
Monday, September 5 - Family Day

Powered by Frankly