What you need to know about the Google+ data breach

Google says over 54 million Google+ members had some of their data stolen in November.

Name, email address and occupation are the ones Google mentioned in the announcement. Now I don’t know anyone who uses their Google+ account anymore. I may check it every once in awhile and no one seems to be doing anything there. So when Google says 54 million users, you have to think 54 million people who signed up only to abandon the social network.

Google+ was launched with much fanfare in 2011. It required an invitation which, as I remember, was hard to get. There were rumblings that it might overtake Facebook and truth is, Google+ was ahead of Facebook in many areas. There was Google Hangouts which allowed people to chat via a webcam.

Multiple people could join the conversation. Few people noticed and usage of Google+ plummeted. Everyone, it seemed, had put all of their energy
into Facebook.
Fast-forward to 2018 and many of the people (self-included) who were so excited about Google+ haven’t even thought of it in months or years. Billions of Google+ members let their accounts just sit there. Now, after the most recent breach, it’s time to delete your Google+ account.

Enter in the browser search bar “Plus.Google.com If you have an account it’ll show up there provided you’re signed into a Google or Gmail account. Click “settings” the scroll to the bottom of the page. You’ll see an option to delete your account.

Google announced it would shut down Google+ in August of next year after a breach earlier this year. Now, after the breach in November, Google moved the expiration date to April.

I’m not waiting on Google to do it for me. I’m deleting my Google+ account today