KENTUCKY — President Donald Trump has approved a disaster declaration for 57 counties in Kentucky.

Governor Matt Bevin and several Kentucky Congressional Delegation sent letters to Trump asking for the declaration.

The declaration means the state can use federal funds to recover from flooding in February and March.

Bevin says there was over $41 million in damages statewide.

Several local counties were in the declaration. They are:

  • Ballard
  • Carlisle
  • Crittenden
  • Livingston
  • Marshall
  • McCracken
  • Trigg
  • Union
  • Webster

Funds from this declaration can be used to help pay for repairs to damaged infrastructure such as bridges and roads, it cannot be used to help individuals who had damage from the flood.

Last month, the Federal Emergency Management Agency said it would not reimburse McCracken County residents for flood damage. This declaration does not change that decision.