MCCRACKEN COUNTY, KY — We now know the names of the people who are tasked with finding the next superintendent of McCracken County Schools.

Previous superintendent, Brian Harper, resigned last month. Heath Cartwright was appointed interim superintendent March 11, but he plans to retire from the school district by June 30. To find the next superintendent, the school board voted on March 21 to hire the Kentucky School Board Association and to form a search committee.

Wednesday, April 10, Pete Galloway with KSBA shared who is on the committee and what they do in the school district.

The committee includes:

Two teachers:

– Mary Lee Cooper – the counselor for assessment and accountability at McCracken County High School.

– Crystal Culp – a social studies teacher at McCracken Regional Juvenile Detention Center.

One school board member:

– Kelly Walker

One Principal:

– Jonathan Reid with Hendron-Lone Oak Elementary.

Two parents:

– Emily Luckett.

– Chris Yarber.

Classified Employee:

– Dan Pope.

Kentucky law requires screening committees have two teachers, one board of education member, one principal, one classified employee and one parent.

In districts with a minority population of 8% or more, a parent who belongs to the minority group must be added to the committee. A special election was held Monday to pick that person — in which all parents of McCracken County School District students were allowed to vote. Yaber was chosen for that role on the committee.